

Press Release 23/01 October 1st, 2023

IAA elects 104 new Members

The International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), has elected 104 new members.

The IAA is an honorary society with an action agenda. The Academy has a strong scientific program with this year about 20 symposia around the world. The International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) is an independent organization of distinguished individuals elected by their peers for their outstanding contributions to astronautics and the exploration of space. The IAA has both its independent studies (36 in preparation) and conferences and collaborates with others partner societies. Although the IAA has many connections to other similar organizations, it is distinctive as the only international academy of elected members in broad area of astronautics and space.

IAA membership consists of 1179 individuals from 88 countries who have distinguished themselves in one of the fields of astronautics or one of the branches of science of fundamental importance for the exploration of space. Full members are elected for life, while corresponding members are eligible for full membership after two years, but retire after five years.

The Academy was founded by the leaders among the early space pioneers. Continuing that distinguished tradition, current members include the leaders and the key managers in all the space agencies and many space industries, leading space engineers and scientists, prominent space lawyers and judges, and outstanding individuals at the interface of space and society.

Corresponding Members Basic Sciences

Babayev	Elchyn	Azerbaijan
Dominik	Martin	UK
Duggirala	Pallam Raju	India
Georgoulis	Emmanouil	Greece
Huseynov	Vali	Azerbaijan
Li	Zhizhong	China
Michel	Patrick	France
Raouafi	Nour	Tunisia/USA
Sadovski	Andrei	Russia
Wang	Pinghui	China
Widemann	Thomas	France
Wright	Dennis H.	USA
Wright	Jason T.	USA

Members Basic Sciences

Leshin	Laurie	USA
Olkin	Catherine B.	USA
Saito	Yoshifumi	Japan
Shustov	Boris M.	Russia
Siemion	Andrew P.V.	USA
Wang	Dapeng	China
Wu	Shufan	China
Yankiv-Vitkovska	Liubov M.	Ukraine
Zwintz	Konstanze	Austria

Corresponding Members Engineering Sciences

Corresponding Members Engineering Sciences							
Bertrand	Reinhold	Germany					
Bijukumar	Saraswathy k. India						
Choi	Joon-Min	Korea					
Flohrer	Tim	Germany					
Fuglesang	Christer Sweder						
Gao	Bo	China					
Granvik	Mikael	Finland					
Gross	Michael A.	USA					
Hasbi	Wahyudi	Indonesia					
Herdrich	Georg	Germany					
Ibrahim	Mohammed K.	Egypt					
Ismail	Abdul M.	Bangladesh					
Karidhal	Ritu	India					
Kobayashi	Hiroaki	Japan					
Kuwahara	Toshinori	Japan					
Melamed	Nahum	USA					
Meng	Gang	China					
Praks	Jaan	Estonia					
Prince	Jill L.	USA					
Rustamov	Rustam	Azerbaijan					
Zhang	Duzhou	China					

Members Engineering Sciences

Aglietti	Guglielmo S.	UK			
Animalu	Alexander O.	Nigeria	Corresponding Members Social Sciences		
Ashok	Venkateswaran	India	Al-Sahhaf	Nasr A.	Saudi Arabia
Bearden	David A.	USA	Denning	Kathryn E.	Canada
Chelaru	Teodor-Viorel	Romania	Dickey	John Charles	USA
Davis	Eric W.	USA	Duarte-Muñoz	Carlos R.	Mexico
de Almeida	Jose S.	Brazil	Gowrisankar	Dhandapani	India
Filatyev	Alexander S.	Russia	Hanlon	Michelle L.D.	USA
Fitz-Coy	Norman G.	USA	Kuriyama	Ikuko	Japan
Hoskins	Andrew	USA	La Regina	Veronica	Italy
Lemmens	Stijn	Belgium	Odom	Brian C.	USA
Long	Teng	China	Robles Rovalo	Arturo	Mexico
Martin	Gary L.	USA	Takeshita	Atsuya	Japan
Metz	Manuel	Germany	Walton	Lori	Canada
Moccia	Antonio	Italy	Zhang	Xuhui	China
Oltrogge	Daniel L.	USA	Zheng	Riheng	China
Paolozzi	Antonio	Italy			
Sanchez Ortiz	Noelia	Spain	Members Social Sciences		
Santoni	Fabio	Italy	Bannova	Olga	USA
Silnikov	Mikhail V.	Russia	Drake	Eileen P.	USA
Sparvieri	Nicola	Italy	Geiger	Christopher	USA
Tanaka	Koji	Japan	Giannopapa	Christina	Italy
Townsend	Lawrence W.	USA	Howard	Diane	USA
Tsuda	Yuichi	Japan	Lal	Bhavya	USA
Zhu	Zheng Hong	Canada	Lin	Mingsen	China
			Lukaszczyk	Agnieszka	Poland
Corresponding Members Life Sciences		Madry	Scott L.H.	USA	
Golemis	Adrianos	Greece	Maemura	Takashi	Japan
Rusanov	Vasily B.	Russia	Magnus	Sandra H.	USA
Wuyts	Floris L.	Belgium	Mejia-Kaiser	Martha	Mexico
			Stelmakh-Drescher	Olga S.	Ukraine

Sun

Vittadini

Members Life Sciences Sergey A.

> Kazuhito Alexander E.

Guangming

Russia

Japan

Russia

China

Ponomarev

Smoleevskiy

Shimada

Zhou

Grazia

Gongling

China

Italy